Skip to main content

Factory & Crow's Theatre Remount 2009 Dora Winner Eternal Hydra

From a media release:

January 22 - February 13, 2011


Toronto, ONFactory Theatre is thrilled to be giving new life to Crow's Theatre's multi award-winning production of Anton Piatigorsky's Eternal Hydra. Toronto audiences now have a chance to see the sleeper hit of the 2009 theatre season, from January 22 to February 13, 2011 at Factory's Mainspace Theatre. Chris Abraham, Crow's Theatre Artistic Director says, "Partnering with Factory Theatre this season has given us the opportunity to respond to critical and audience calls for a remount following our too brief two-week run."  Factory Artistic Director Ken Gass is pleased to work in association with Crow's Theatre for a three-week run of Eternal Hydra as part of Factory's 2010/2011 season. "Eternal Hydra is exactly the type of show we want at Factory - smart, sexy, literate, with incredible performances."

Eternal Hydra was nominated for ten Dora Mavor Moore Awards in 2009, winning four, including Outstanding Production, Outstanding Direction, Outstanding Lighting Design and Best New Play. This production directed by Chris Abraham, with set and lighting design by John Thompson, costume design by Barbara Rowe, sound design by Richard Feren and stage management by Merissa Tordjman, features original cast members David Ferry, Sam Malkin and Liisa Repo-Martell joined by new cast member Cara Ricketts.

Vivian, a scholar, unearths a long-lost manuscript by firebrand author Gordias Carbuncle that is supposedly a work of staggering genius.  When Selma Thomas's connection to Carbuncle is discovered, it sparks a controversy reaching from the high-powered publishing world of present-day New York, to 1930's Paris, and the American Civil War. Eternal Hydra is about identity politics, sex and the myth of genius "a thrilling look at the making of a modern masterpiece."

Four actors play 11 characters:
David Ferry plays Gordias Carbuncle and Henry Warmoth;
Sam Malkin plays Randall Wellington, Jr., Randall Wellington, Sr. and Léon LaBas;
Liisa Repo-Martell plays Vivian Ezra, Gwendolyn Jackson and Sarah Briggs;
• New to the original cast, Cara Ricketts plays Pauline Newberry, Selma Thomas and the Narrator.

• Liisa Repo Martell, David Ferry and Cara Ricketts
• Chris Abraham
• Anton Piatigorsky

The Details:
• Show times are Tuesday to Saturday, 8 p.m., and Sunday, 2 p.m. (exception Sunday preview, 7 p.m.).
• Preview tickets are $15.
• Tuesday to Thursday tickets are $28 ($23 for Students and Seniors); Friday, $35 ($30 for Students and Seniors); Saturday, $40 ($35 for Students and Seniors); and Sunday, advance tickets $28 ($23 for Students and Seniors) or Pay-What-You-Can tickets.
• RUSH tickets are subject to availability on Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday performances.
• The box office opens at noon on Sunday and has a limited number of P-W-Y-C tickets, available at 1 p.m.
• The box office is open for in-person/phone sales Tuesday to Saturday, 1 – 8 p.m., and Sunday at 12 noon - 4 p.m.;
Online sales are available 24 hours a day.


Popular posts from this blog

Film News - imagineNATIVE Embargo Collective at the Berlin Film Fest

Hot Off the Presses:
(and gosh, doesn't that expression sound quaint these days?)

to have its European Premiere at the Berlin International Film Festival 2010
(Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin 11.-21.02.10)

(Toronto, February 3rd, 2010) The imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival is pleased to announce the official selection of the festival’s Embargo Collective programme for the Forum Expanded section of this year’s Berlin International Film Festival. This programme of works was commissioned by the imagineNATIVE festival for its 10th anniversary and will have its European premiere Monday, February 15th, 8.30pm at Cinema Arsenal 2 and a repeat screening Wednesday, February 17th, 4pm at CinemaxX 6.

Curated by imagineNATIVE’s Artistic Director Danis Goulet, the Embargo Collective is an international group of seven Indigenous artists at the forefront of the changing global landscape of Indigenous cinema. Inspired by Lars von Trier’s The Five Obstructi…

Esmeralda Enrique Spanish Dance Company Spring 2013 Toronto Performances

From a media release:

The new season brings
Esmeralda Enrique Spanish Dance Company
to new heights and new audiences

March 20-24, 2013 - A Night in Madrid
April 25-28, 2013 - Annual Toronto Season - World Premiere of Portales

TORONTO : Following on the heels of Esmeralda Enrique Spanish Dance Company's (EESDC) 30th anniversary year where its production Aguas/Waters was named one of the top five dance shows of 2012 by NOW Magazine, the early months of 2013 are full of excitement and possibility for Esmeralda and the company, which brings the finest flamenco and Spanish Classical Dance to Toronto stages.

March 20-24, 2013 - A Night in Madrid
Company dancers Esmeralda Enrique and Paloma Cortés perform Spanish Classical dance with the celebrated Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra and Chamber Choir for A Night in Madrid featuring the Iberian flavoured music of composer Luigi Boccherini who made his home in Spain. His work is infused with the sounds of Spanish and gypsy folk music.

March 20-24 …

Guitar Rock | Happy Freuds - Echo Of Sounds Independent: May 31, 2019

Guitar Rock
Happy Freuds - Echo Of Sounds
Independent: May 31, 2019
Stream/Buy on Bandcamp
Stream it on Spotify

With tight musicians and intriguing lyrics, Happy Freuds delivers high energy guitar rock with stylistic flair on Echo Of Sounds, their debut release. Produced with a minimum of overdubs or fixes, the album consists of a mix of original material, rearrangements of works from others and selected, less known, classic rock.

A kinetic rhythm section is the bones of the music, offering interesting patterns that augment sometimes unexpected harmonic changes. It's brainy rock, in other words, meant for music lovers who can appreciate the quality. Teo's vocals are raspy and expressive, growly when necessary - perfect for the musical mode. Teo also covers lead guitar, adapt at ear worm leads, with a tone that can be clean or dirty as required

Their sound ranges from straight up hard rock in tracks like The Mountain to the pop-flavoured acoustic Background Noise and folky To …