Skip to main content

Roots Music in Toronto: Grainne Ryan, The Rucksack Willies & The Joyful Sinners August 5

From a media release:

SPEAK Music Presents...

WHERE: Hugh’s Room, 2261 Dundas St. W. Toronto, ON
WHEN: Friday, August 5 @ 8:30 pm /  9:30 pm / 10:30 pm
TICKETS: $12 adv / $15 Door @ or by calling 416-531-6604
• Dinner reservations guarantee seating

TORONTO – Rustle in the crowd and bolt the barn door shut! It’s going to be a hot night of music at Hugh’s Room. Nowhere will you find such an exciting trio of bands playing in one venue on the night of Friday, August 5th. Three of Toronto’s most dynamic up-and-coming groups GRAINNE, THE RUCKSACK WILLIES and THE JOYFUL SINNERS take the stage for a thrilling musical ride ranging in styles from catchy roots/pop to hillbilly heaven to sinful soul, blues and glorious gospel.


The first thing you need to know about Grainne is how to say her name and what it means. It's pronounced grawn-ya, it's an old Irish name and in English it means Grace. Grainne has “graced” us with her 3rd EP Looking For Sunshine (produced by Moe Berg), which was released on November 26, 2010.

Eric Thom writes in a recent Roots Music Canada review, that Grainne’s music is “reminiscent of Lucinda Williams and a slightly rebellious Mary Chapin Carpenter.... her original compositions are instantly familiar-sounding, hook-laden songs that encourage you to kick up your feet and, in some cases, sing along.”

“She’s honest, direct, and writes the absolutely catchiest hooks I know; the album should come with a related warning label.” ~ Andy Frank (Roots Music Canada)

Fresh from a highly successful run at the Mariposa Festival stage this summer, the Rucksack Willies were described by Self Serve Gas Station blogger as "a mix of country/rock/bluegrass/folk/Gin Joint ....and dirty bluegrass..." They are all of that and more.

Formed in 2008, the band has since become a tour de force of old-style country stomping with a solid injection of endless original material from the undeniably charming lead vocalist Angela Hilts. Band members Hilts (vocals, banjo), Megan Thomas (vocals, washboard), Galen Pelley (drums), Lucas Gadke (upright bass, vocals), Matt Bailey (guitar, harmonica) and Michael Eckert (dobro, pedal steel) have been enthralling Ontario audiences for the past three years, garnering a reputation for having one of the most energetic stage shows in the Golden Horseshoe and beyond. Their soon-to-be-released debut CD Letter To Anne, produced by Michael Eckert and engineered and mixed by Reuben Ghose, skillfully presents the full force of the Willies’ live show with the help of guest musicians David Baxter, John Williams (clarinet), and Laura Bates.

This is a band that not only plays well-written and hook-driven original songs in the style of roots, blues, soul and gospel music, but are also all very capable and seasoned musicians. Despite all members being under the age of 26, they have already shared stages with many well-respected Canadian artists including Matt Dusk, Ron Sexsmith and Luke McMaster. The sky seems to be the limit for the Joyful Sinners (who have only been playing together for less than two years!). The group recently released their debut four-track EP What You Need to a packed crowd at Mitzi’s Sister. With punchy horns and sassy backup vocals the band performs regularly around town, but don’t take it from me, one must see them live to truly experience what it's like to be a "Joyful Sinner."

“Upbeat and hearty, their music demands your attention and you can’t help but shimmy-shake a little while sippin’ on your rye and ginger. They’re smooth, they’re soulful, they’re even as the name suggests: joyful” ~ C. Roberts (The Mushy Pony)


Popular posts from this blog

Film News - imagineNATIVE Embargo Collective at the Berlin Film Fest

Hot Off the Presses:
(and gosh, doesn't that expression sound quaint these days?)

to have its European Premiere at the Berlin International Film Festival 2010
(Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin 11.-21.02.10)

(Toronto, February 3rd, 2010) The imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival is pleased to announce the official selection of the festival’s Embargo Collective programme for the Forum Expanded section of this year’s Berlin International Film Festival. This programme of works was commissioned by the imagineNATIVE festival for its 10th anniversary and will have its European premiere Monday, February 15th, 8.30pm at Cinema Arsenal 2 and a repeat screening Wednesday, February 17th, 4pm at CinemaxX 6.

Curated by imagineNATIVE’s Artistic Director Danis Goulet, the Embargo Collective is an international group of seven Indigenous artists at the forefront of the changing global landscape of Indigenous cinema. Inspired by Lars von Trier’s The Five Obstructi…

Esmeralda Enrique Spanish Dance Company Spring 2013 Toronto Performances

From a media release:

The new season brings
Esmeralda Enrique Spanish Dance Company
to new heights and new audiences

March 20-24, 2013 - A Night in Madrid
April 25-28, 2013 - Annual Toronto Season - World Premiere of Portales

TORONTO : Following on the heels of Esmeralda Enrique Spanish Dance Company's (EESDC) 30th anniversary year where its production Aguas/Waters was named one of the top five dance shows of 2012 by NOW Magazine, the early months of 2013 are full of excitement and possibility for Esmeralda and the company, which brings the finest flamenco and Spanish Classical Dance to Toronto stages.

March 20-24, 2013 - A Night in Madrid
Company dancers Esmeralda Enrique and Paloma Cortés perform Spanish Classical dance with the celebrated Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra and Chamber Choir for A Night in Madrid featuring the Iberian flavoured music of composer Luigi Boccherini who made his home in Spain. His work is infused with the sounds of Spanish and gypsy folk music.

March 20-24 …

Guitar Rock | Happy Freuds - Echo Of Sounds Independent: May 31, 2019

Guitar Rock
Happy Freuds - Echo Of Sounds
Independent: May 31, 2019
Stream/Buy on Bandcamp
Stream it on Spotify

With tight musicians and intriguing lyrics, Happy Freuds delivers high energy guitar rock with stylistic flair on Echo Of Sounds, their debut release. Produced with a minimum of overdubs or fixes, the album consists of a mix of original material, rearrangements of works from others and selected, less known, classic rock.

A kinetic rhythm section is the bones of the music, offering interesting patterns that augment sometimes unexpected harmonic changes. It's brainy rock, in other words, meant for music lovers who can appreciate the quality. Teo's vocals are raspy and expressive, growly when necessary - perfect for the musical mode. Teo also covers lead guitar, adapt at ear worm leads, with a tone that can be clean or dirty as required

Their sound ranges from straight up hard rock in tracks like The Mountain to the pop-flavoured acoustic Background Noise and folky To …