Skip to main content

Jazz CD Release:The Pearcy / Gratzmiller Jazz Quintet - Over the Edge (Independent / 12 October 2018)

Jazz CD Release:
The Pearcy / Gratzmiller Jazz Quintet - Over the Edge
(Independent / 12 October 2018)

Stream It On Soundcloud
Stream It On Spotify

A roster jazz cats from Beantown got together to create this project - The Pearcy/Gratzmiller Jazz Quintet - and it took ten years to compile the original tracks on their release, Over The Edge.

"Our goal in creating Over the Edge was to create a modern album that classic jazz listeners could also enjoy. We made an effort to capture the spirit and tradition of classic quintets from 50's and 60's while mixing in modern elements, particularly in the areas rhythm and song form. We think contemporary jazz can be soulful and fun, but inventive at the same time."

"Over the Edge" is the title of the PGJQ's debut album. It contains 10 original compositions written over the course of nearly a decade by co-leaders Wayne Pearcy (Trumpet) and Aaron Gratzmiller (Saxophone). Joining them is an outstanding rhythm section comprised of Matt Savage on Piano, Greg Toro on Upright Bass, and Fabio Rojas on Drum Set.

Old style musicianship and classic be bop meet modern improvisation on this stylish release. Composers Pearce and Gratzmiller possess an inventive sense of melody and rhythm, and use the classic tropes to create new music.

All the jazz stops come out in Beantown Bahp, including sparkling piano, bass and drum solos against a cool retro groove. Poor Man's Doctor has the kind of feel you'd expect to find late night in a big city jazz club, with interesting rhythms and a killer drum track that embellishes the beats.

Blues 88 unfolds to a slow and sexy rhythm, with the horns and piano trading riffs. It's the perfect soundtrack to a fashionable cocktail party, and harkens back to the days when jazz was danceable. 

Over The Edge is a standout track, with fluid horn and piano over a kinetic rhythm section playing at breakneck speed. Yellow Mood contrasts its high energy output with a smooth and melodic ballad.

The Defector is an intriguing, upbeat track that lets Aaron Gratzmiller shine on the sax. His tone veers from high and clear to fat and rich. He takes the spotlight again on Pieces of Mind, contrasting with Wayne Pearcy's warm trumpet.

Take a bunch of jazz cats from Beantown with a love of classic jazz and the other foot firmly in the present tense, and you've got this enjoyable release.

Track List:
1. Beantown Bahp
2. Poor Man's Doctor
3. Blues 88
4. Over the Edge
5. Yellow Mood
6. Something About the Moon
7. The Defector
8. You're Too Nice
9. Pieces of Mind
10. Yellow Mood

Personnel: Wayne Pearcy: Trumpet; Aaron Gratzmiller: Saxophones; Matt Savage: Piano; Greg Toro: Bass; Fabio Rojas: Drums'
Tracks 1, 3, 4, and 10 composed by Wayne Pearcy. Tracks 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9 composed by Aaron Gratzmiller.

Stay in Touch:


Popular posts from this blog

Film News - imagineNATIVE Embargo Collective at the Berlin Film Fest

Hot Off the Presses:
(and gosh, doesn't that expression sound quaint these days?)

to have its European Premiere at the Berlin International Film Festival 2010
(Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin 11.-21.02.10)

(Toronto, February 3rd, 2010) The imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival is pleased to announce the official selection of the festival’s Embargo Collective programme for the Forum Expanded section of this year’s Berlin International Film Festival. This programme of works was commissioned by the imagineNATIVE festival for its 10th anniversary and will have its European premiere Monday, February 15th, 8.30pm at Cinema Arsenal 2 and a repeat screening Wednesday, February 17th, 4pm at CinemaxX 6.

Curated by imagineNATIVE’s Artistic Director Danis Goulet, the Embargo Collective is an international group of seven Indigenous artists at the forefront of the changing global landscape of Indigenous cinema. Inspired by Lars von Trier’s The Five Obstructi…

Esmeralda Enrique Spanish Dance Company Spring 2013 Toronto Performances

From a media release:

The new season brings
Esmeralda Enrique Spanish Dance Company
to new heights and new audiences

March 20-24, 2013 - A Night in Madrid
April 25-28, 2013 - Annual Toronto Season - World Premiere of Portales

TORONTO : Following on the heels of Esmeralda Enrique Spanish Dance Company's (EESDC) 30th anniversary year where its production Aguas/Waters was named one of the top five dance shows of 2012 by NOW Magazine, the early months of 2013 are full of excitement and possibility for Esmeralda and the company, which brings the finest flamenco and Spanish Classical Dance to Toronto stages.

March 20-24, 2013 - A Night in Madrid
Company dancers Esmeralda Enrique and Paloma Cortés perform Spanish Classical dance with the celebrated Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra and Chamber Choir for A Night in Madrid featuring the Iberian flavoured music of composer Luigi Boccherini who made his home in Spain. His work is infused with the sounds of Spanish and gypsy folk music.

March 20-24 …

Guitar Rock | Happy Freuds - Echo Of Sounds Independent: May 31, 2019

Guitar Rock
Happy Freuds - Echo Of Sounds
Independent: May 31, 2019
Stream/Buy on Bandcamp
Stream it on Spotify

With tight musicians and intriguing lyrics, Happy Freuds delivers high energy guitar rock with stylistic flair on Echo Of Sounds, their debut release. Produced with a minimum of overdubs or fixes, the album consists of a mix of original material, rearrangements of works from others and selected, less known, classic rock.

A kinetic rhythm section is the bones of the music, offering interesting patterns that augment sometimes unexpected harmonic changes. It's brainy rock, in other words, meant for music lovers who can appreciate the quality. Teo's vocals are raspy and expressive, growly when necessary - perfect for the musical mode. Teo also covers lead guitar, adapt at ear worm leads, with a tone that can be clean or dirty as required

Their sound ranges from straight up hard rock in tracks like The Mountain to the pop-flavoured acoustic Background Noise and folky To …