Skip to main content

Psychadelica:Lord Sonny the Unifier - The Starman (Independent / 8 February 2019)

New Single:
Lord Sonny the Unifier - The Starman
(Independent / 8 February 2019)
from the upcoming album Final Notice! due April 13, 2019

Stream the New Single
Pre-order the album

"The music and instrumentation that comes from this album is based on a deep love for the instrumentation, production style and spirit of the mid 60's to the late 70's when, somehow, it seemed as if the very magnetic force of the earth and her times were also directly transferred to the magnetic tape itself as well as the song's soul, a soul that seemed to BE, to exist solely, for the purpose of being a song to sing of itself and not for any other commercial or self - aggrandizing distractions."

Starman is the new single from psychadelic garage rocksters Lord Sonny The Unifier. Brooklyn-based musician and composer Gregory Jiritano began playing guitar at the age of 8, and started playing in New York City bars by age 16. When a fire struck his recording studio in 2015, he knew he had to either regroup or give it up. He chose to regroup, and got together with drummer Carmine Covelli. Lord Sonny The Unifier was born.

Starman celebrates the mystical side of sci-fi with a catchy groove, interesting and hypnotic rhythms, keening guitars, and growly vocals. It's accompanied by a video that follows Jiritano in a white suit, exploring the Starman theme.

It's the second single leading up to the album release in April 2019, coming after Right In Your I, released in October.

The album combines a retro feel and aesthetics in a sophisticated musical package. The release has a nicely fat sound, with lush instrumentation fleshed out by keyboards. Jiritano's vocals are raw and expressive, from an edgy lower end to a softer tenor. In keeping with an anti-establishment, anti-commercial philosophy, the lyrics talk about social change, with a heavy side order of the space race, and mystical musings thereon.

Musically, the band covers a range of retro rock stylings, from anthemic to trippy psychadelica, and orchestral pop. The music is constructed in layers of sound, with plenty of changes and unexpected elements that keep it fresh and vital.

The full 10-track album drops April 13.

Track List
1. Right in Your I 2. The Starman 3. Till We Changes Things 4. Satellite Eye 5. First in Space 6. Your Sweet Daydreams 7.Love is on the Line 8. All the Signs 9. The All New Knownothings 10.March Forth 11. El Ray

Greg Jiritano: Vocals and Guitar; Tyler Wood: Keyboards, Percussion and Backing Vocals; Derek Nievergelt: Bass; Carmine Covelli: Drums, Percussion and Backing Vocals; Amy Gordon: Backing Vocals 

Stay In Touch:


What Else Is Hot This Week?

Esmeralda Enrique Spanish Dance Company Spring 2013 Toronto Performances

From a media release:

The new season brings
Esmeralda Enrique Spanish Dance Company
to new heights and new audiences

March 20-24, 2013 - A Night in Madrid
April 25-28, 2013 - Annual Toronto Season - World Premiere of Portales

TORONTO : Following on the heels of Esmeralda Enrique Spanish Dance Company's (EESDC) 30th anniversary year where its production Aguas/Waters was named one of the top five dance shows of 2012 by NOW Magazine, the early months of 2013 are full of excitement and possibility for Esmeralda and the company, which brings the finest flamenco and Spanish Classical Dance to Toronto stages.

March 20-24, 2013 - A Night in Madrid
Company dancers Esmeralda Enrique and Paloma Cortés perform Spanish Classical dance with the celebrated Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra and Chamber Choir for A Night in Madrid featuring the Iberian flavoured music of composer Luigi Boccherini who made his home in Spain. His work is infused with the sounds of Spanish and gypsy folk music.

March 20-24 …

Polina Semionova to Appear as Guest Artist with American Ballet Theatre

From a media release:


New York - Polina Semionova, a principal dancer with Berlin State Opera Ballet, will debut as a Guest Artist with American Ballet Theatre for the 2011 Metropolitan Opera House season, it was announced January 14, 2011 by Artistic Director Kevin McKenzie. With ABT, Semionova will perform Kitri in Don Quixote at the matinee on Saturday, May 21, opposite David Hallberg as Basilio, and the dual role of Odette/Odile in Swan Lake on Saturday evening, July 2, opposite Hallberg as Prince Siegfried.

Born in Moscow, Semionova studied at the Bolshoi Ballet School before joining the Berlin State Opera Ballet as the company’s youngest principal dancer. Her repertoire with Berlin State Opera Ballet includes Odette-Odile in Swan Lake, Nikiya in La Bayadère, Marie in The Nutcracker, Princess Aurora in The Sleeping Beauty, Swanilda in Coppélia, Kitri in Don Quixo…

Harlem Stage Digital Event: A Drop Of Midnight October 13 & 15 2020

From a release:Harlem Stage Digital Event:
A Drop Of Midnight
October 13 & 15 2020A two-part conversation with Jason ‘Timbuktu’ Diakité and his creative team around the developmental process of creating his autobiographical theater project, A Drop of Midnight. In this conversation Jason will take us on his journey to becoming one of Sweden’s chart-topping hip-hop artists and a best-selling author. He’ll also share the story of how a mixtape from Brooklyn traveled across the waters to the tiny village of Lund, Sweden and altered the course of his life forever. We will examine the impact of hip hop music and culture on the globe. How has hip-hop united communities of color globally?  How do you translate a personal story into a universal truth? How do you build a creative team? How has the current climate of social justice informed your artistic practice? Jason will read excerpts from the play and share some of the music. October 13—Part IIn this conversation A Drop of Midnight author…

So You Can't Go: Six Ways To Travel Virtually

So You Can't Go:
Six Ways To Travel VirtuallyTravel is limited for most of us in the world these days. For Canadians, it depends on the province you live in, but with the border to the US still closed, and other options limited at best, virtual travel from the couch can provide at least a view with a difference at a time when you may well need it most. Google Cardboard – VR On A BudgetYou don't need a lot of cash to get into travel via virtual reality. Google Cardboard is a line of VR viewers that are, well, made of cardboard, and are priced starting at $12CAD.If you check out this link, you'll find out how to download the software to your smartphone.At this link, you can get yourself an actual Google Cardboard for a hands-free VR experience. Google Cardboard apps offer a variety of ways to experience our beautiful planet, including Google Earth itself, which can take you anywhere, along with apps to view museums and cultural artifacts, and more.Ascape VRAscape has a huge l…

Fall for Dance North Debuts 2020 Festival: Live + Digital Experiences Sept 29–Oct 18 2020

From a media release:Fall for Dance North Debuts 2020 Festival
Captivating Live + Digital Experiences on Newly Enhanced Digital PlatformToronto’s premier international dance festival launches curated collection of original content and proprietary programs on new custom-built websiteTORONTO, ON — Fall for Dance North (FFDN) proudly presents the 6th edition of its esteemed international dance festival, The Flip Side, from Sept. 29–Oct. 18, 2020
Featuring a new, Netflix-style digital platform, an enhanced line-up of free programming, and a ticketed signature livestream presentation featuring six world premieres by Canadian dancemakers, FFDN has reimagined the festival experience to offer audiences an intimate connection to the art form of dance during these extraordinary times.Starting on Sept. 29, free programs will be released at daily, including an original podcast, a quirky interview series in a bathtub, a poetry + music album, a new dance film featuring 46 Ryerson Schoo…