Guitar Rock | Happy Freuds - Echo Of Sounds Independent: May 31, 2019

Guitar Rock
Happy Freuds - Echo Of Sounds
Independent: May 31, 2019

Stream/Buy on Bandcamp
Stream it on Spotify

With tight musicians and intriguing lyrics, Happy Freuds delivers high energy guitar rock with stylistic flair on Echo Of Sounds, their debut release. Produced with a minimum of overdubs or fixes, the album consists of a mix of original material, rearrangements of works from others and selected, less known, classic rock.

A kinetic rhythm section is the bones of the music, offering interesting patterns that augment sometimes unexpected harmonic changes. It's brainy rock, in other words, meant for music lovers who can appreciate the quality. Teo's vocals are raspy and expressive, growly when necessary - perfect for the musical mode. Teo also covers lead guitar, adapt at ear worm leads, with a tone that can be clean or dirty as required

Their sound ranges from straight up hard rock in tracks like The Mountain to the pop-flavoured acoustic Background Noise and folky To Blue. In Black is anxious and angsty, the vocals alternately low and subdued/raspy and overwrought. The contrast striking, and makes it a standout track. There's a tip of the hat to you-know-who in Allman's Big Feet, a track with an appropriately retro flair.

A live version of Push (August 2019):

Chauncey is another highlight of the release, a strongly rhythmic track with shades of prog rock and even classic glam rock in the mix. Overcome is an acoustic ballad with a haunting sound.

Lyrics are clever and thoughtful, with a message about the world we live in. From Mountain,

Now is the time to be content
To feel so moral and free
No is the answer, but what was the question
Is that what you're telling me?
Happy Freuds
Based in Javea, Spain, Happy Freuds was formed by Swedish brothers Teo and Victor Holmstrom at the age of 17 and 14 respectively, covering lead guitar and vocals, and drums. With the original line-up, they've played around the Marina Alta area since 2016, including club and festival gigs.

Track List:
1. Push
2. Allman's Big Feet
3. The mountain
4. Background Noise
5. In Black
6. To Blue
7. Chauncey
8. Song-X
9. Low Are The Punches
10. Overcome
11. Rocking and Stumbling.

Teo Holmstrom: Lead guitar, Vocals; Victor Holmstrom: Drums; Maverick Domene: Rhythm Guitar; Donato Asensio Giner: Bass

Stay in touch:

Chauncey - Official: