Acoustic Fusion: Mark Vickness Interconnected - Interconnected (Independent / 15 September 2020)

Acoustic Fusion:
Mark Vickness Interconnected - Interconnected
(Independent / 15 September 2020)

Interconnected is a new instrumental album of acoustic fusion by Mark Vickness and Interconnected - with the album of the same name.

The album contains four solo pieces and four new original pieces for the ensemble that includes two time Grammy winning violinist, Mads Tolling, cellist Joseph Hebert, Dan Feiszli on upright and electric bass and tabla virtuoso, Ty Burhoe. Known for his fingerpicking guitar style, Vickness gets percussive as well as melodic sounds from the guitar.

Three videos have been released so far.

Interwoven is a piece that begins with acoustic guitar and mournful cello. Gradually, those layers are overlaid with a violin and then tabla. The play of melodies and rhythms is absorbing. Is it neoclassical, or classical crossover - it doesn't matter.

Hot Apple Stuff was created for the Tiny Desk Competition 2020. In it, the ensemble creates sonically intriguing layers that build on each other rhythmically and harmonically.

It's quite hypnotic in nature, keeping it fresh in a series of harmonic changes

Vickness talks about the project in a media release.

"The music on this recording is intended to convey Interconnectedness, the reality that we live in an interconnected, interdependent world, that we are all one human race. Instrumental music is an ideal means of expressing this because it is a universal language. This ensemble is comprised of musicians who are capable of a wide range of styles from different cultures and different eras. 

"I worked hard to write this music with interconnectedness in mind, within each piece individually and in the relationships between the pieces themselves. Some of the pieces on Interconnected come from a deeply personal place. For Every Child was written for every person who has either experienced or known someone who has gone through the trauma of losing their innocence to childhood sexual abuse as I did before age ten. One Day Over A Thousand is dedicated to all those who lost their lives to Covid-19, and to my dear friend Holli Ross, who died while this piece was being written." 

Personnel: Mark Vickness/guitars, Mads Tolling/violin, Joseph Hebert/cello, Dan Feiszli/bass, Ty Burhoe/tabla

The one thing that's not clear is where you can get or hear the album in its entirety, but you can follow his website and socials to stay updated (see below).

Grey Skye is a piece for solo acoustic guitar that explores a sombre theme through several variations. The B/W video adds to the effect.

1. Interwoven
2. Grey Skye
3. Hot Apple Stuff/Studio version
4. Bodega Blue
5. 6 in 7
6. Mia Lucia
7. For Every Child
8. Hot Apple Stuff/Live version
9. One Day Over A Thousand

Official Website:
Youtube Channel: Mark Vickness