Skip to main content

Lithuanian Rock: Robertas Semeniukas - Backstage Stories (Independent / November 20, 2019)

Robertas Semeniukas - Backstage Stories
(Independent / November 20, 2019)

Stream it on Spotify
The Album "Backstage Stories" 2xLP & CD

Robertas Semeniukas is a great find if you like your rock with a hard edge and a strong groove. Naturally, guitar reigns supreme, with a sound that ranges from snarly to fluid and melodic, and virtuosic chops to keep everything interesting. You don't have to understand Lithuanian to enjoy the well-crafted songs and polished musicianship.

Of the 20 tracks, 8 are instrumental. This is rock in what you'd call a classic vein, heavily influenced by 1980s and 1990s bands, but with a modern gloss to it, and a sense of musical experimentation that isn't often associated with that era in Western pop music. Robertas wrote or co-wrote all the tracks except for one cover, the blues composition You Gotta Move by Mississippi Fred McDowell.

Within the rock/metal genre, the prolific composer, singer and musician mines a variety of moods. Songs like Nesustok and Kai tu sugrįši į namus add harmony vocals and acoustic guitar for a softer sound. The instrumental tracks, like Flying High (S.V.J.S.), still have an anthemic feel, and a head banging pulse.

Killer Boogie From China is just that - at least, it's a boogie, the Chinese angle I'm not so sure about. Journey Home is a standout track, an instrumental with a jazzy sense of rhythmic and harmonic changes. Būna tau is a sweet piano ballad. As a vocalist, he has a nice range of tones and expression.

Robertas also serves as producer and arranger on the album. A veteran of the music industry, he's performed at music festival from North America to Russia and China, and many points in between. In Lithuania, he has a busy career writing music for television projects, and as a session musician, in addition to his own recording and performing.

Robertas Semeniukas & Giedrius Balčiūnas (Mr. Jumbo) ☆Camera work, video editing by Giedrius Balčiūnas

Robertas Semeniukas: Guitars and Vocals; Jonas Lengvinas: Drums; Tadas Zukauskas: Bass

"1. Kai nieko nebelieka"
"2. Nesustok"
"3. Flying High (S.V.J.S.)"
"4. Gitarų šėlsmas"
"5. Kai tu sugrįši į namus"
"6. Per bangas"
"7. Killer Boogie From China"
"8. Journey Home"
"9. Būna tau"
"10. Stormy Day"
"11. You Gotta Move"
"12. Eat My Dust"
"13. Negerki, broleli"
"14. Icebreaker Comes To Town"
"15. Asian Sky"
"16. See Jam"
"17. Song 4 Editoo"
"18. Dream Song"
"19. Šilo kopa"
"20. Nebilia lankoj"

Stay in touch:

The album was released Nov 20th, 2019 on digital, CD and limited edition 180 g 2xLP gatefold vinyl, featuring a 12 pages booklet.

Kai nieko nebelieka (Guitar solo)


Popular posts from this blog

Esmeralda Enrique Spanish Dance Company Spring 2013 Toronto Performances

From a media release:

The new season brings
Esmeralda Enrique Spanish Dance Company
to new heights and new audiences

March 20-24, 2013 - A Night in Madrid
April 25-28, 2013 - Annual Toronto Season - World Premiere of Portales

TORONTO : Following on the heels of Esmeralda Enrique Spanish Dance Company's (EESDC) 30th anniversary year where its production Aguas/Waters was named one of the top five dance shows of 2012 by NOW Magazine, the early months of 2013 are full of excitement and possibility for Esmeralda and the company, which brings the finest flamenco and Spanish Classical Dance to Toronto stages.

March 20-24, 2013 - A Night in Madrid
Company dancers Esmeralda Enrique and Paloma Cortés perform Spanish Classical dance with the celebrated Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra and Chamber Choir for A Night in Madrid featuring the Iberian flavoured music of composer Luigi Boccherini who made his home in Spain. His work is infused with the sounds of Spanish and gypsy folk music.

March 20-24 …

NU MUSES 2017 Luxurious Fine Art Nude Calendar Now Available

From a media release:

NU MUSES 2017 Luxurious Fine Art Nude Calendar Now Available
24 Fine Art Prints from Celebrated Photographer David Bellemere Available In Three Limited Edition NU MUSES 2017 Calendar Packages

“What spirit is so empty and blind, that it cannot recognize the fact that the foot is more noble than the shoe, and skin more beautiful than the garment” -Michelangelo

Buy the collections
Check them out at Art Basel, Miami - December 1-4, 2016

LOS ANGELES, Calif. – November 22nd, 2016 – NU MUSES, the luxurious 2017 fine art nude calendar, is now available to purchase in three unique limited edition collectors packages. Drawing inspiration from the Pirelli calendar of the 1970s, NU MUSES is set to celebrate the forgotten art of the classic nude and capture the elegance and romance of the female form.

The NU MUSES limited edition art piece is a sublime collectable calendar, featuring nude photographs of 12 of the world’s most stunning models, captured by famed photographer David…

Guitar Rock | Happy Freuds - Echo Of Sounds Independent: May 31, 2019

Guitar Rock
Happy Freuds - Echo Of Sounds
Independent: May 31, 2019
Stream/Buy on Bandcamp
Stream it on Spotify

With tight musicians and intriguing lyrics, Happy Freuds delivers high energy guitar rock with stylistic flair on Echo Of Sounds, their debut release. Produced with a minimum of overdubs or fixes, the album consists of a mix of original material, rearrangements of works from others and selected, less known, classic rock.

A kinetic rhythm section is the bones of the music, offering interesting patterns that augment sometimes unexpected harmonic changes. It's brainy rock, in other words, meant for music lovers who can appreciate the quality. Teo's vocals are raspy and expressive, growly when necessary - perfect for the musical mode. Teo also covers lead guitar, adapt at ear worm leads, with a tone that can be clean or dirty as required

Their sound ranges from straight up hard rock in tracks like The Mountain to the pop-flavoured acoustic Background Noise and folky To …